Should I stay or escargot?

I was involved in a conversation last night about snails that pertained to food, and then during the day today I helped my 5th graders put snails in their science aquariums.  I am confused.  I can’t imagine eating one, even if it were all buttered up and swimming in a pool of garlic sauce.  I mean, these gastropods have their heads attached to their feet!!!  For me, at least at this point, eating one seems like something I would put on my Risk List directly under skydiving (and we know that isn’t happening!)  I am exposing what a wimp I am, but really I’m having a hard time considering this animal for a meal.  I must need to do more research.  What do you think?  Have you eaten snail before?  If not, would you ever?  Inquiring minds want to know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

